This is what the order of succession to the royal crown looks like today.

WASHINGTON – As King Charles III officially crowned during his coronation, people may wonder who is next in line.

Charles was the king after the death of Queen Elizabeth II last September. While his wife Camilla, was also crowned at the coronation, as she is not a member of the royal family by blood, she would not take the throne if Charles dies or steps down. The situation was the same when Prince Philip was alive and married to Elizabeth.

Who becomes king after Charles? What is the royal order of succession?

1. Prince William, Prince of Wales: Charles and Princess Diana’s firstborn.

2. Prince George: Firstborn of William and Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge

3. Princess Charlotte: William and Catherine’s second child.

4. Prince Louis: William and Catherine’s third child. Until a few years ago, Louis was ahead of Charlotte because male siblings were preferred regardless of when they were born. The Crown Succession Actenacted in 2013, removed this rule.

It’s a safe bet that no one below this point on the list will ever take the throne. William and his three children, grandchildren and so on had to either die or renounce their right to the monarchy. Abdication has only happened once in history. And when George becomes a father, his children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren will precede Charlotte in the line of succession.

5. Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex: Charles and Diana’s second child. Although he and his wife Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, stepped down from their royal duties in 2020 and moved to the US, Harry remains in the line of succession.

6. Prince Archie: Harry and Meghan’s firstborn.

7. Princess Lilibeth “Lily” Diana: Harry and Meghan’s second child.

8. Prince Andrew, Duke of York: Queen Elizabeth II’s third child. He holds the position ahead of his older sister, Princess Anne, who was born before the Succession to the Crown Act in 2013.

9. Princess Beatrice: Prince Andrew’s first child.

10. Sienna Elisabeth Mapelli Mozzi: Daughter of Beatrice and her husband Edoardo Mapelli Mozzi

11. Princess Eugenie: Prince Andrew’s second child.

12. August Philip: son of Princess Eugenie and husband Jack Brooksbank

13. Prince Edward, Duke of Edinburgh: Queen Elizabeth II’s fourth child

14. James, Earl of Wessex: Prince Edward’s second child. As his elder sister was born before the succession act in 2013, he takes this place.

15. Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor: Prince Edward’s first child

16. Princess Anne, Princess Royal: Queen Elizabeth II’s second child

17. Peter Phillips: Princess Anne’s first child

18. Savannah Phillips: First child of Peter and Autumn Phillips

19. Isla Phillips: Second child of Peter and Autumn Phillips

20. Zara Tindall: Princess Anne’s second child

The Associated Press contributed to this report

If Charles dies, will Camilla become Queen?

Now that she has been crowned alongside her husband, King Charles III’s wife is officially known as Queen Camilla. Although it sounds more formal than ‘queen consort’, the change of titles does not make a practical difference to the 75-year-old royal’s role.

And because she is not a member of the royal family by blood, she would not take the throne if Charles dies or abdicates. The situation was the same when Prince Philip was alive and married to Elizabeth.

Prince William, Prince of Wales and firstborn of Charles and Princess Diana, remains heir to the throne.

Previous articleLocal poets published in the almanac • The Yellow Springs News
Next articleCoronation Fashion: What Katy Perry, Kate, Penny Mordaunt Wore