RAWSON – Perry improved to 17-1 in baseball with a 13-4 victory on Saturday against Corey Rawson.

Winning pitcher Hunter Clett recorded 10 knockouts.

Brady Shivili had three hits, including a double, and Ryan Inst had three hits, including a double, and three RBIs also for Commodores.


boulevard 7,

Fort Laurie 6

HUSTON – Abby Taylor won at Madison Lowt with a winning streak at the bottom of the ninth inning. Taylor finished with two strokes and and RBI. Teammate Meg Hencle had two strokes, including a double.


Women’s tennis

Otterbein 5,

Northern Ohio 1

MASON – Ohio North have been knocked out in the finals of the Ohio Athletics Conference at the Lindner Tennis Center.

Polar bears, sown under the second sowing, complete the season with a score of 19-7.

The Cardinals with the best seed are 18-4 and have won the league’s automatic bid for the NCAA III Championship.

Katy Curry of ONU and Regan Landis won 8-5 in the doubles № 3 when the polar bears trailed 2-1 in the singles.

Otterbain then won numbers 1, 2 and 3 in the singles to complete the match.

Georgia Templin of the Polar Bears won their match at No. 6 in singles 6-2, 5-4 when the match was stopped.


UNOH wins 2

LIMA – The University of Northwest Ohio won a pair of 4-3 10-inning games against Indiana Tech to advance to the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference.

In the first win, Alex Velasco had three shots, and RBI and Eric Castro made two shots and went for the Racers.

In the second win, Christian Perez had three strikes, including a double, RBI for UNOH.

The riders will host Madonna in the best of three series to determine the tournament champion. Game 1 – on Monday at 15:00, the second – at noon and, if necessary, game 3 at 15:00 on Tuesday.

All WHAC awards

LIMA – The Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) has announced its awards for all conferences.

Northwestern Ohio University head coach Corey Hartman was named Coach of the Year.

The first team included Yadi Rivera of UNOH, Shakur Jackson, Christian Perez, Alex Velasca, Tyler Grigalis and Bryant Dill. The second team award went to Eric Castro, Joshua Ortiz, Michael Joyce and Tyler Zarembka.

Rivera and teammate Eric Castro joined the Gold Glove team.

UNOH players recognized by the All-Academic Team were Devin Brown, Bobby Chapman, Bryant Deal, Shakur Jackson, Noah London, Colin Noet, Joshua Ortiz, Grant Reeve and Noah Richard. Members of the general academic team must be juniors or higher on the academic grade with a total grade point average of 3.25.

Alex Velaska of Racers has become a champion by the nature of the team, whose members best represent the five core values ​​of the character: honesty, respect, responsibility, athleticism and leadership.


OAC tournament

ADA – Ohio North, which takes the first place, won both games on the opening day of the Ohio Athletics Conference on the ONU softball field and is one victory away from the championship.

The Polar Bears (23-9 in total) opened with a 1-0 victory against No. 4 seeded Otterbain (23-13 in total) and then won 6-4 against No. 3 seeded Mount Union (22-17). in general). today is the last day of the double departure tournament.

Today at 10 a.m. there will be a knockout game between Mount Union and No. 2, seeded by Muskingham (total 31-11), and at noon the winner will meet ONU. If Northern wins this game, it wins the tournament championship. If the polar bears drop out, then at 14:00 they will meet in a rematch in this game in the competition, where the winner takes everything.

Ashley Lenser played a big part in ONU’s two wins, bringing both games to an 12-2 improvement over the season. She ended the day by dropping 182 innings.

Against Otterbain Lenser threw four strikes with one move and one outline.

In the victory over Mount Union, she conceded nine blows, and crossed out three and missed none.

Taylor Hilty participated in a singles polar bear meeting against the Cardinals.

Against Mount Union Abby Elliott received three hits in the team.

Men’s tennis

ONU 5, John Carroll 3

MASON – Ohio North, who sowed with the best seed, won the OAC Tournament Championship against John Carroll with the second seed in the final at the Lindner Tennis Center.

The Polar Bears have announced their school record 22nd win of the season against just four defeats and will advance to the NCAA III tournament with an automatic league bet.

The Blue Streaks, who have won the previous six titles, end their season 9-9.

Ohio North has won the championship for the first time since 2013 and for the 11th time in the program’s history.

ONU will learn about the destination of the NCAA tournament and the opponent in the first round on Monday.

Graduates Ada Zach Bishler and Drew Swisher came together with a 5-1 deficit to win 8-6 in the doubles № 3 and give ONU a boost in the singles.

Bishler tied the score at 2 with a score of 6-0, 6-1, winning the singles № 6.

After JCU’s No. 1 singles victory, Tristan Munteanu tied the score 3-3 with a 6-3 win, 6-1 in singles № 5.

Sam Sran won 7-6 (5), 6-3 at number 3 in singles, putting ONU ahead 4-3.

Peyton Specht became the champion, winning 6-4, 6-4 on the 4th number in singles.

Contact the Lima News Sports Department at 567-242-0468.


Previous articleThe crew is 2-2 with Revolution
Next articleThe Apple iPhone 14 Max is likely to get a 90Hz display and 6GB of RAM: report